mRelief Logo

Need financial assistance?

First, see if you qualify by using our online questionnaire:
Rent, SNAP or Utility AssistanceThen Call



(877) 426-6515

Suburban Cook

(847) 782-4100

Lake County

Catholic Charities Administrative Offices - (312) 655-7000.

Catholic Charities Social Services - email, or call (312) 655-7700 in Chicago or (847) 782-4000 in Lake County and someone will assist you. Call volume is extremely high so email is recommended if you are unable to find what you need on the web site.

Counseling Support Line - (312) 948-6951, 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

To donate to our work by phone, call (312) 948-6087. Every gift helps someone in need.


Leadership ~ Compassion with Purpose

With the vision of our founding members, leaders on our Women's Board guide a passionate and dedicated group of volunteers to reach toward the goal of helping every vulnerable man, woman, and child in Lake County through the programs and services of Catholic Charities.

Honorary Board Members

Mary Carlson Midge Nelson
Houda Chedid Mary Kay O'Meara
Margaret Crane Suzi Otterbeck
Maureen Dugan Nancy Pasquesi
Lois Ecklund Ann Patterson
Mary Gesualdo Joanie Reynolds
Helen Glunz Debbie Stepan
Editha Kapoor Sally Stoll
Marcie Liddy Terry Swartout
Patrica Lynch Kathy Walgreen
Madeleine McMullan Janie Walsh
Jean Morse Netty Wanandi
Mary Ann Moschner Dorothy Wehmer
Joanne Mullen

Past Board Presidents

1990-91 Ellie Clarke 2006-07 Debbie Sepan
1992-93 Madeline McMullan 2008-09 Vera Purcell
1994-95 Melanie Rummel 2010-11 Mary Carlson
1996-97 Cille Ramsey 2012-13 Debby Lambert
1998-99 Houda Chedid 2014-15 Maureen Griffith
2000-02 Peg Ciccarelli 2015-17 Jan Zukowski Elwart
2002-03 Ellen Romeiser 2017-19 Patty Poth
2004-05 Jean Morse 2019-21 Heather Kotlarz

Our membership strives to represent the spirit of our founders, in particular, Irene Leahy McMahon. Irene’s ardent volunteerism, professional and civic contributions, and most importantly her kind and loving manner reverberate throughout our Board. Each year at our signature benefit, Art of Caring, the Irene Leahy McMahon award is presented to a Women’s Board member who has given unselfishly of her time and talents to Women’s Board activities and to Catholic Charities. This level of commitment exemplifies Irene’s dedication to Catholic Charities and represents a continuation of Irene’s legacy.

Irene Leahy McMahon Award Recipients

2001 Millie Hall 2011 Alisun Blanda
2002 Nancy Pasquesi 2012 Debbie Stepan
2003 Ellie Clarke 2013 Vera Purcell
2004 Susy Hoch 2015 Sally Stoll
2005 Diane Clark 2016 Peggy Allingham Ciccarelli
2006 Terry Swartout 2017 Debby Lambert
2007 Dorothy Andries 2018 Mary Carlson
2008 Liane Klingler 2019 Patty Charhut
2009 Ellen Romeiser
2010 Jean Morse

Women's Board of Lake County Services:

Ways to Change Lives


Phone: (312) 655-7525
Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Chicago
PO Box 7154
Carol Stream, IL 60197-7154